Dainik Bhaskar Group
  • Dainik Bhaksar Group's core values




Dainik Bhaskar Group is Urban India’s #1 newspaper group and has 6 newspapers with 67 editions. The group has a total readership of 1.26 Crore in Urban India. The group has a strong presence in radio business. 94.3 MY FM, the radio brand of the group is the largest radio network in India, with presence in 30 cities across 7 states. The digital arm of group, DB Digital has 2.6 billion collective page-views with 80.4 million unique visitors across its portals in four languages, Hindi, Gujarati, English and Marathi.







Mr. Sudhir Agarwal | Managing Director


Mr. Sudhir Agarwal has close to 23 years of experience in the publishing and newspaper business and has been a part of the organisation for the same number of years. He is responsible for its long-term vision, business planning and performance monitoring.


Under his dynamic leadership and clear vision, the Company has progressed to encompass multiple states, three new languages and a PAN-India presence. Under his leadership the Company’s door-to-door contact launch process has helped its newspapers become No. 1 from Day 1, in launch markets. His aggressive leadership qualities have led various analysts and investors to consider the Company as one of the fastest growing media groups.


Mr. Sudhir Agarwal

Mr. Girish Agarwaal | Non-Executive Director


Mr. Girish Agarwaal has been on the Board since October 1995 and has approximately 20 years of experience. He heads the marketing and related operations of the Group. He is also an active member of the INS and holds the distinction of being its youngest Chairman in Madhya Pradesh. He has been awarded ‘Entrepreneur of the Year’, 2006 in the media category by Ernst & Young. Recently, he was awarded the ‘Outstanding Entrepreneur’ trophy at the Asia Pacific Entrepreneur Awards (AEPA).


Under his leadership, Divya Bhaskar, the leading Gujarati newspaper of the group; Divya Bhaskar. won the ‘Best in Print’ (Bronze) award at the IFRA Asia Pacific Awards held in Chennai. Divya Bhaskar is the only regional newspaper in India to have won this award.


Mr. Girish Agarwaal

Mr. Pawan Agarwal | Non-Executive Director


Mr. Pawan Agarwal has been on the Board since December 2005. He holds a B.A. degree in Industrial Engineering from Purdue University, USA and has also attended a programme on Leadership's Best Practices at Harvard University. He heads production and the information technology department along with the radio and DB Digital Business within the Group.


He has been awarded by the Prime Minister for his contribution to Indian language journalism and also by Enterprise Asia as one of the outstanding entrepreneurs of Asia-Pacific, 2010.


Mr. Pawan Agarwal


Ms. Anupriya Acharya | Non-Executive Independent Director


Ms. Anupriya Acharya has been included on the board of the Company this year. A Post Graduate in Chemistry from IIT – Roorkee, she is an eminent media professional with 20 years of experience in media agencies across India and Singapore and is currently the CEO of Publicis Media.


Ms. Anupriya Acharya is also the Jury member on key media industry awards in India and APAC and speaks frequently at key industry events. She has featured in Brand Equity’s list of top 10 Media professionals in Indian Media, in 2014 and is in Impact’s list of ’50 most influential women’ in 2014.


Mr. Piyush Pandey

Mr. Ashwani Singhal | Non-Executive Independent Director


Mr. Ashwani Singhal has been on the Board of the Company since November 2007. He has over 30 years of experience in non-ferrous metallurgical industry.


He is currently handling the global sourcing of raw materials for his business of manufacturing Aluminium Deox and Ferro Aluminium for the steel industry. He was the Vice President of BIR Brussels, the international authority in non-ferrous metals for global trends in the industry from 1996 to 2008.


He is the Founder-Director of The Metal Recycling Association of India and is an active member of the social service organisation called Lions International. Mr. Ashwani Singhal is serving as the District Chairman Sight First of The International Association of Lions Clubs District 323 A3.


Mr. Ashwani Singhal

Mr. Harish Bijoor | Non-Executive Independent Director


Mr. Harish Bijoor has been on the Board of the Company since November 2007. He started his career with Hindustan Lever Limited (formerly known as Brooke Bond Lipton India Ltd.). Currently, he is a Brand Domain Specialist operating out of Bengaluru. He has also served at Zip Telecom Ltd. and Tata Coffee Limited in varied roles in the senior management.


Mr. Harish Bijoor is also an active member of different coffee forums including the Coffee Board of India. Besides, he was an active member of the sub-committee on plantations of the Planning Commission. He has recently written a book titled ‘Marketing Trends – Smart Insights into the World of Indian Business’.


Mr. Harish Bijoor

Mr. Piyush Pandey | Non-Executive Independent Director


Mr. Piyush Pandey has been on the Board of the Company since November 2007. He joined Ogilvy in 1982 & currently is the Executive Chairman and Creative Director for Ogilvy & Mather India and South Asia. He was the first Asian to be the president of the Cannes Jury for Film, Press and Outdoor in 2004.


Mr. Piyush Pandey was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by AAAI in India in 2010 and Clio in 2012. He is the only Indian to have won a double Gold at Cannes and a triple Grand Prize at London International Advertising Awards held in 2002. He holds a postgraduate degree in History from St. Stephen’s College.


Mr. Piyush Pandey