Our Directors

  • Mr. Sudhir Agarwal Managing Director
    Sudhir Agarwal

    Mr. Sudhir Agarwal has close to 28 years of experience in the publishing and newspaper business and has been a part of the organisation for the same number of years. He is responsible for its long-term vision, business planning and performance monitoring.

    His dynamic leadership and clear vision led the Company to encompass multiple states, three languages and a pan-India presence. Under his supervision, the Company’s door-to-door contact launch process has helped its newspapers become No.1 from day one. His aggressive management qualities have led analysts and investors to consider the Company as one of the fastest growing media Group of India.

  • Mr. Girish Agarwal Non-Executive Director
    Girish Agarwal

    Mr. Girish Agarwal has been on the Board since October 1995 and has approximately 24 years of experience. He heads the marketing and related operations of the Group. He is also an active member of the INS and holds the distinction of being its youngest Chairman in Madhya Pradesh. He has been awarded ‘Entrepreneur of the Year’ by Ernst & Young in 2006 and ‘Outstanding Entrepreneur’ at the Asia Pacific Entrepreneurship Awards (APEA) in 2016.

    Under his leadership, Divya Bhaskar, the Group’s Gujarati daily has won the ‘Best in Print’ (Bronze) award at the IFRA Asia Pacific Awards. Divya Bhaskar is the only Indian Language newspaper in India to have won this award.

  • Mr. Pawan Agarwal Dy. Managing Director
    Pawan Agarwal

    Mr. Pawan Agarwal has been on the Board since December 2005. He holds a B.A. degree in Industrial Engineering from Purdue University, USA and has also attended a programme on Leadership’s Best Practices at Harvard University. He heads production and the information technology department along with the radio and DB Digital Business within the Group.

    He has been awarded by the Prime Minister for his contribution to Indian language journalism and also by Enterprise Asia as one of the outstanding entrepreneurs of Asia Pacific, 2010.

Independent Directors

  • Mr. Piyush Pandey Non-Executive
    Independent Director
    Piyush Pandey
  • Mr. Ashwani Singhal Non-Executive
    Independent Director
    Ashwani Singhal
  • Mr. Harish Bijoor Non-Executive
    Independent Director
    Harish Bijoor
  • Ms. Anupriya Acharya Non-Executive
    Independent Director
    Anupriya Acharya
Mr. Piyush Pandey Non-Executive Independent Director

Mr. Piyush Pandey (64 years) has been on the Board of the Company since November 2007. He has over 36 years of experience in advertising - all with Ogilvy and Mather (O&M), India. In addition to his current role as Executive Chairman of O&M India, he was also made the Worldwide Chief Creative Officer of Ogilvy in January 2019. He is the only Indian to have won three Grand Prizes at the London International Advertising Awards.

He was awarded the Clio Lifetime Achievement Award in 2012 and the Lion of St. Mark at the International Festival of Creativity at Cannes 2018 - the first Asian to be given this recognition. In 2016, he was awarded the Padma Shri in recognition of his distinguished service in the field of advertising and communication. He was the first Indian to be awarded a Padma Shri in this field. He published his first book ‘Pandeymonium’ in 2015.

Mr. Ashwani Singhal Non-Executive Independent Director

Mr. Ashwani Kumar Singhal has been on the Board of the Company since November 2007. He has over 31 years of experience in non-ferrous metallurgical industry.

He is currently handling the global sourcing of raw materials for his business of manufacturing Aluminium Deox for Steel Industry and Aluminium Powder for Noble Ferro Alloys Production Process.

He is the founder-director of ‘The Metal Recycling Association of India’ and has served as the District Chairperson - Innovation of The International Association of Lions Clubs District 3231 A3 Mumbai India 2018-19.

Mr. Harish Bijoor Non-Executive Independent Director

Mr. Harish Bijoor has been on the Board of the Company since November 2007. He started his career with Hindustan Lever Limited (formerly known as Brooke Bond Lipton India Limited.). Currently, he is a brand-thinker and practitioner operating out of Bengaluru, India. He runs a unique boutique consulting outfit branded ‘Harish Bijoor Consults Inc.’ He has spent his career across the aggressive realms of FMCG, Telecom and Consumer Durables. He has also served at Zip Telecom Limited and Tata Coffee Limited in varied roles in the senior management.

He is an active member of different coffee forums including the Coffee Board of India. Besides, he was an active member of the subcommittee on plantations of the Planning Commission.

Ms. Anupriya Acharya Non-Executive Independent Director

Ms. Anupriya Acharya, CEO, Publicis Media India is an eminent media professional with 23+ years of experience in media agencies across India and Singapore. Prior to this, she has also held positions of Group CEO - Zenith Optimedia, CEO - Aegis Media Singapore, Leader - Team Unilever, South Asia at Mindshare and President - The Media Edge, India.

She is a Jury member on key media industry awards in India and APAC and speaks frequently at key industry events. She has been felicitated by Forbes India as ‘W-Power’ Trailblazer 2018 and featured in India’s list of Top 50 “Most Powerful Women in Business” in 2018. She has also featured amongst the Top 10 on Impact’s list of “50 Most Influential Women in Advertising, Media and Marketing Industry” in 2018 and 2019. A Post Graduate in Chemistry from IIT - Roorkee, her interests are adventure trips, photography and interior designing.

Thank you for contacting us. We will get back to you shortly